Responsible Purchasing Network
a project of
New American Dream Logo

Responsible Purchaser of the Year Awards

March 30, 2009

Source: Responsible Purchasing Network


The Responsible Purchasing Network is pleased to announce the winners of the first annual Responsible Purchaser of the Year awards.

A panel of judged comprised of green purchasing professionals chose four individuals and organizations from among RPN’s more than 200 member companies and governments for their outstanding commitment to using the power of purchasing to advance social responsibility and ecological sustainability.

The awards were presented at the Seattle Green Festival on March 28th. The winners will receive specially designed plaques made from recycled glass and FSC certified wood, provided by Rivanna Designs.

The winners, and a sampling of their green purchasing accomplishments, are as follows:

  • Jeffrey Baer, Director, Bureau of Purchases, City of Portland, Oregon
    Adoption of Portland’s Sustainable Procurement Policy and Sweatshop Free Procurement Policy
  • Yalmaz Siddiqui, Director of Environmental Strategy, Office Depot
    Publication of the “Green Book” catalog of green office products
  • Eric Nelson and Karen Hamilton, Environmental Purchasing Analysts for the Environmental Purchasing Program, King County, Washington
    Converting fleet vehicles to plug-in hybrids, using “permeable concrete” to reduce stormwater run-off, and implementing a green cleaning program
  • Alicia Culver, Executive Director of the Green Purchasing Institute
    Issuing a Model Green Lighting Specification and co-authoring the Responsible Purchasing Guide to Fluorescent Lighting

Congratulations to the winners for their innovative and pioneering efforts!



Don't miss out!  Now is the perfect time to nominate some deserving individual for next year's Responsible Purchaser of the Year Award.

Click here to find out how



 Return to News Listing