Responsible Purchasing Network
a project of
New American Dream Logo

Revised CFL Standards Now in RPN Lighting Guide

April 01, 2008

Source: U.S. Department of Energy

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) has issued revised standards and expanded categories for ENERGY STAR compact fluorescent lightbulbs (CFLs).  These changes have been incorporated into RPN’s Responsible Purchasing Guide for Lighting

The new ENERGY STAR standards place limits on the amount of mercury allowed in ENERGY STAR CFLs to less than 5 milligrams for most bulbs. They also expand the eligible product categories for CFLs, expands the program to include candelabra-based CFLs, incorporates a third-party testing program for all bulbs effective November 2008, tightens lamp color requirements, and adds high-heat testing requirements for reflector products.

Revised ENERGY STAR criteria for CFLs takes effect December 2, 2008.  The criteria for CFLs were last updated in 2003.

Click here for the full menu of RPN's Responsible Purchasing Guides

 Return to News Listing